Liebster Award

So, the lovely Amie Elna (love love love that name, btw) over at Becoming A wild Family nominated me for the Liebster Award!  Excuse me while I have a Viola moment:

giphy
In case you don’t know about it, the Liebster Award is basically a shout out to 5 of your favorite bloggers.  You ask them a set of questions, they answer, share, then ask 5 of their favorite bloggers a set of questions, who answer, share, and round and round it goes.

The fact that someone nominated me for anything, and it wasn’t my mom, makes me ridiculously excited.
Ok, since we’ve already established I’m a narcissist, I’m going to answer the questions Amie Elna has posed to me then list my 5 favs.  Ready? And Go!
1. Do you have pets?

Yes, I have an incredibly pathetic chi-weenie named Pippa.  Pippa always shakes, always, and seems to believe she has a great mission to complete and is just waiting for me to give me some code word decided on long ago.  Her life is basically following me everywhere, shaking, and waiting for my signal to save Gotham City.

dog and cat

We also have a cat named Johnny who is as laid back as Pippa is neurotic.  In fact, he’s so laid back he’s decided the litter box is simply too much work, he’d rather just use my bed/laundry basket/potted plants for his bizness.  Needless to say, he is now an outdoor only cat.

2. What’s the last thing you crafted/made?

Oh, you had to ask to me that, didn’t you?  Let’s see…I guess it would be what was supposed to be one of those blanket nest things for babies, you know with a closed end like a pea pod?  But turned out looking more like a beanie for the Rastafarian with the world’s longest dreads.  Annnd, just to prove how truly competent I am, I forgot about it until my baby was way too big to fit inside.

3. What’s your favorite season, why?

Up until a few years ago, I would have undoubtedly answered Fall, but I think it may now be Spring.  I think having children has really awoken the love of all things warm and flowery in me, but a big part of it is also the fact that I converted to Orthodox Christianity a few years ago and Easter (Pascha) is the focal point of the Orthodox year.  All year long it is referred to and anticipated and, when it finally arrives after a long loooonnnnggg Lent, the Feast is truly joyous.

4. What would your escape plan be for a zombie apocalypse?

I would defer to my husband as he has been anticipating such an event for many years.

daddy

(There’s an RPG under that baby.)

5. Would you rather hike on a concrete path or dirt path? Why?

Dirt path, all the way!  Because my true self is a fairy who lives in Scotland and has never seen or even imagined such a heretical thing as a concrete path.

6. What’s your favorite tree? Why?

Oh man, I love trees so much!  I could never be an astronaut or live in Mongolia (which strangely has no trees) because I simply cannot live without them.  I think my favorite would be Redwood Sequoias (the CA state tree, what WHAT) because they are everywhere up here in Northern CA and smell so so good.

7. Favorite ice cream flavor?

Hmm, this may lose me some blog followers but I don’t really like ice cream.  Unbelievable but true.  I don’t really like food that doesn’t require chewing, as I am a huge huge freak.  That is not to say I don’t like sweets.  I actually once went on a dessert-only diet, in hopes that if I ate only  dessert, I wouldn’t gain any weight.  Yeah, it didn’t work.

download(Any day now, the weight’s gonna drop…)

8. When in a beautiful garden, are you ever tempted to look for fairies… Just in case?

Of course!  It would hurt their feelings if I didn’t.

9. Any gardening tips?

Don’t water too much.  And don’t give up on them.  Many of my plants that have looked on the brink of death have been revived by new soil, position in the sun, or less water.

10. Favorite book read aloud?

Probably Harry Potter, which we are reading out loud right now, and which, contrary to some opinions, won’t transform your children into practitioners of Wiccan.  Actually, I think the story of Harry is incredibly allegorical and I see so much of Christ in Harry, as I do in all heroes.

 

NOW, for my five favorite bloggers.  That is so so hard!  I love so many!  I guess they would be:

Stories of Unschooling Family: I’ve mentioned Sue Elvis’ blog before.  She has probably been the greatest inspiration to me in unschooling and parenting in general.  If you’ve never read anything by her, check her out.  Her blog is a goldmine.

Adventures with my Kids: An Orthodox homeschooling blog written by Jenny, a mom to three adopted sons in addition to three other children.

Penelope Trunk: Ok, PT is way famous and I’m sure she will never condescend herself to even acknowledge this little nod, but I seriously do love her blog so I am including her anyway.  I don’t always agree with everything she says but most of her posts are just fascinating.  In fact, I like her so much that I accidently subscribed to her Career Blog as well as her Homeschool Blog, and I never unsubscribed, even though most of it is completely irrelevant to me.  I get a thrill every time a post arrives in my inbox.  If you want to give her a try, I’d recommend these posts:

~Schools Holds Kids to Standards Even Adults Wouldn’t Meet

~ Search is the Most Important Academic Subject Today

~ My Kids are 4 Years Below Grade Level and I Don’t Care

Eclectic Orthodoxy: Written by Father Aidan Kimmel who seems to love George MacDonald as much as I do (and maybe more).

And I’m kinda cheating here but I’m going to nominate a Podcast – Autastic:  A podcast about autism by two comedians with autistic loved ones. It’s so good, so funny, so gets you in the feels.  I have an autistic brother so there’s a big connection there for me, but I really think anyone could revel in the greatness of this podcast.

My questions for the nominees:

  1. If you could choose to have one person as a dinner guest (living/dead/fictional/real) who would it be?
  2. At what point in your life were you happiest?
  3. What is your favorite virtue?
  4. If you could time travel, when and where would you go?
  5. What is your greatest fear?
  6. If you could choose to live forever, would you?
  7. What do you consider the lowest depth of misery?
  8. Did you enjoy childhood more than you are enjoying adulthood, or vice versa?
  9. Do you believe God loves you? Why or why not?
  10. What is your greatest strength? Weakness?

So there you have it!  Thank you so much, Amie Elna, for nominating me for this award!  And, please, check out these blogs/podcast listed here, and Amie Elna’s as well; Becoming a Wild Family.  You won’t be sorry!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. I loved your answers… especially your response to looking for fairies! I would never want to insult a fairy or hurt their feelings 🙂 I’m so sorry about your forgotten-till-it’s-too-late sewing project – that’s the worst! I will, also remember your gardening tip this summer if my plants start looking deathly (which unfortunately will undoubtedly happen). I look forward to following you and reading your future posts!! I also plan on checking out all the fabulous bloggers you nominated:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Casey,

    Congratulations on your Liebster award! You’re one of my favourite bloggers too. I do love your style. Your personality shines through your words and I always feel I’m visiting a good friend when I come here.

    I really enjoyed reading all your answers and finding out a bit more about you and your gorgeous family. (Oh my, your baby has beautiful eyes!)

    And then I found out you nominated my blog for an award as well. Thank you! I haven’t written much recently, but now I’ll have to start tapping on my computer. I need to compose a new post just in case anyone visits. They might expect to read an inspiring story after reading your kind words about me and my blog!! Actually, I’m not feeling very inspiring today. Our dog barked half the night and kept me awake and now I’m plodding through the morning trying to keep awake. But your post has brought a smile to my face and I now have hope I’ll forgive the dog and make it through the day!

    Love to you and your family!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Sue, you are always so kind. Thank you so much! Your encouragement means the world to me! I’m sure everyone who links to your blog from my post will agree with me that you are truly a gem. PS I am loving Imogen’s music videos!! What a gorgeous singer she is!

      Like

Leave a Reply

