We Loveth Spring

(Don’t be put off by my mastery of ye olde English, I happen to be a Shakespearean actor.)

Isn’t it strange how siblings can come from the same parents, be raised in the same surroundings, with the same values, and yet develop such startlingly different personalities?  My eldest (see how I used eldest rather than the uncivilised oldest? Shakespeare, friends, Shakespeare) is a shrunk down, girled up Steve Irwin.  Really, she’s our little naturalist.  She actually forages.  I told her off hand once that dandelions are edible and she now eats them like potato chips.  Same with hibiscus flowers and wild strawberries.  The look on people’s faces never ceases to amuse me when she grabs a handful of flowers and chows them down.

jo flo

(Does anybody have some ketchup?)

(Yes, I know, these are daffodils- not edible)

Now, obviously, I’ve always enjoyed Spring, I haven’t given completely over to the dark side, but enjoying it with a True Nature Lover is such a joy.  She just notices everything, which of course, makes me notice them as well.

“Mommy, the cherry blossoms are blooming!”

“I heard a Blue Jay this morning!  He sounded like he was laughing at me!”

Running to me with her hands cupped around something small and mysterious, “Mommy, a ladybug!” or “Look, an earthworm!” or, even better “The first baby lizard!”

Though not quite as savage as their sister, my younger daughters are fairly wild themselves.  She is a good influence.  And this is just another reason I love homeschooling/unschooling so very much.  I have a hard time believing they would be as immersed in the natural world if they were in school all day.  They simply wouldn’t have the time!  And, as we rugged public-school vets know all t0o well, shouting out in rapturous joy at each new blooming flower or writhing worm just isn’t, well, cool.

For all the other parents of budding naturalists out there:

journey-north

Journey North is a website for Citizen Scientists (also not cool: proudly proclaiming, “I’m a Citizen Scientist!” to all your friends. Side note: why isn’t it cool to be interested in things? I don’t get it…) to report any seasonal changes they’ve observed.  So far, we’ve reported robin sightings, robin flocks, earthworms, frogs singing, blue jays, geese, and ladybugs. We’re anxiously awaiting our first hummingbird sighting as well as Monarch butterflies.  An additional plus from giving these guys (who, in my rebel opinion, are very, very cool) your email address is they send you updates they’ve received from other (ultra, mega, sunglasses-inside cool) Citizen Scientists across the country.  For example, we know that ruby-throated hummingbirds have been spotted south of us and so should be here soon.

Ok, well, as I’ve been typing this post single handed as my 1-year-old alternately open mouth kisses my face and screams into my now very wet shoulder, I think I’ll be signing off now.  I hope this was helpful to someone out there and how how how does one smoothly end a post?  Not like this.  Until next time.

 

8 thoughts on “We Loveth Spring

Leave a Reply

